Five Best Books: Mystery/Thriller Genre

24 Aug

I’m keeping up the momentum by joining IndieHoustonReader’s weekly five best books meme.  This week’s topic is the five best in the genre of your choice.  My mind goes straight to dystopian literature, but I know I’ve done it before.  So I added some variety and this is my mystery/thriller list!

 

1) The Stand, by Stephen King:  See what I did there? Haha! I promise this is the only overlapping choice I’ll make.  I’m going to keep the Stephen King raves down to two books.  This huge novel is epic!  I felt like I was there, in this world that was just like my own world but not quite. I was always at the edge of my seat.

2) Red Dragon, by Thomas Harris: This is my favorite of the Hannibal Lector novels, although I also really liked Hannibal.  I blame the movies.  I was able to read this novel way before the movie came out, and it’s separated enough from Silence of the Lambs that I didn’t keep comparing characters.  I like Jack Crawford better than Jodi Foster.

3) Angels and Demons, by Dan Brown: I like this book more than The Davinci Code. The concept of anti-matter was very interesting, and there was a clicking clock that kept the adrenaline pumping all the time!  The big reveal at the end is fantastic, as far as I’m concerned.

4) The Green Mile, by Stephen King: Why this particular book, you ask?  I think that this book had the most aspects of mystery in it.  There were lots of questions, and unlike many of his works, Stevie actually answers most of them by the end of the story.

5) Fear Nothing, by Dean Koontz: I feel a bit guilty posting this in my list, because I had to do a lot of research to remember it.  I don’t 100% even remember what happened in the end.  I’m going to have to re-read it.  There is also a second book with main character Christopher Snow and his unusually intelligent dog.  It’s the characters that made this memorable and got it on my five best list!

Sidenote: I tried reading The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and couldn’t get into it at all!  I feel like I’m the only person in the world who didn’t like it.

3 Responses to “Five Best Books: Mystery/Thriller Genre”

  1. Cassandra Neace (@CassandraNeace) August 25, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    It’s funny. I’ve seen the movie versions of four of the books on your list (I don’t think the fifth has been made into a movie), but I have only read the one. I’m almost ashamed to admit that it was the Dan Brown. I would like to read The Green Mile sometime. Maybe over the holidays.

    Great list, and thanks for joining us. We hope to see you again!

  2. Yvette August 26, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    I didn’t like THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO either, Jenni. There are a few of us out here. 🙂

    Interesting list. I’ve read the Dean Koontz book but don’t remember much about it except that I liked it.

    I did see THE GREEN MILE movie and loved that.

    I’m not a huge fan of Stephen King though I plan on reading his latest book about an attempt to stop the Kennedy assasination by a time traveler.

    • Jenni August 26, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

      I feel much better reading that 🙂 Also, I’m very excited to read 11/22/63 when it comes out in November! It seems different from his usual novels. Thanks for stopping!

Leave a Reply

