Five Best Books that Take Place During a War

6 Jun

Cassandra at Indie Reader Houston hosts a weekly “Best Five” list.  This week’s theme, Books that Take Place During a War, threw me for a loop at first.  But I’m excited to sort out my thoughts and create my list!  You should check out her blog, and the top five lists.  They’re very fun!

I don’t  often read historical fiction.  War stories aren’t of much interest to me.  However, I found a way to make this list work for me!

1) The Diary of Anne Frank is the very first book that came to mind.  When I read this book in high school, I was taken by the fact that Anne’s life didn’t revolve around the war.  The book was literally about a young girl’s life, not about a war.  That’s what made it so impactful.

2) The Keep, by F. Paul Wilson is a fictional book about Nazis and vampires.  When an SS squad take over a castle, something starts hunting them down, one by one.  The only person who can help them is a Jewish man.  It’s an intriguing premise, very creepy, and vampires kill Nazis.

3) Gone with the Wind, by Margaret Mitchell, isn’t a book I really enjoyed.  Still, it’s epic, and I love that it has a Southern perspective of the Civil War.

4)Number the Stars, by Lois Lowry, is another gem set during World War II.  It seems as though, of the war books that I do read, I lean toward World War II.  This book reminds me a bit of Anne Frank’s diary, except a fictional read.

5) I’m going to cheat with the last one and choose World War Z, by Max Brooks.  This is a very interesting book about a futuristic war against zombies.  It’s written as though the author interviewed various survivors of the war to create a documentary.

4 Responses to “Five Best Books that Take Place During a War”

  1. Leeswammes June 7, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    I’ve never read Gone with the Wind and didn’t realise it takes place during a war. I don’t like reading about wars, especially not WWII, as my parents both were teenagers then and they hated to talk about it (nothing terribly traumatic happened to them, but war is never fun of course).

    World War Z is on my wishlist, I hope I get round to it soon.

  2. Donna June 7, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    The Keep has an interesting premise. I like my war novels to be a bit more realistic though.

    • Jenni June 7, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

      Yep! I know my list is a bit unique 🙂 I like a variety of genres, but historical fiction is definitely not a strong one for me! I’m glad you stopped by, though!

  3. Sara Churchman July 22, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    I totally recommend “The Book Thief,” takes place during WWII. There isn’t much romance but I just KNOW you’d enjoy the book!

Leave a Reply

